For this concert, the Béla Quartet opened its suitcases for an evening in Marseille...

He found Henry Fourès' striking work Un bel éclair qui durerait, for quartet and augmented percussion. The piece explores the possibilities of the strings' acoustic discourse, in dialogue with the virtuoso art of percussionist Jean Geoffroy, who in addition to his infallible instrumental technique, transmutes the natural choreography of the hands into unheard-of sounds.

Following on from this, the four musicians will play the piece written by Robert Pascal for the Quatuor Béla, Obscure Lumière, in memory of the victims of the Camp des Milles during the Second World War, in resonance with the Hymne des Milles composed in 1939 by Adolf Siebert, then in detention at the Camp des Milles. The composer's refined music has been ardently defended since his early days, when Robert was still teaching at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Lyon. His highly personal style combines rigorous writing with inspired, humanist poetry.

Last but not least, Francesca Verunelli, a singular creator recognizable by all, offers the Quatuor Béla the premiere of her new string quartet. Following her Unfolding for quartet and electronics, anyone familiar with her art will expect music with diaphanous, adamantine textures. Rich in possibilities, this is a work that will sometimes open with rich, scintillating polyphony, sometimes with sharp, delirious rhythms.
-

Francesca Verunelli - Creation 2024

Henry FourèsA Beautiful Lightning Bolt That Would Last
In the publishing catalogues of the last thirty years, there are few works in quintet, combining percussion and string quartet. This is because the questions raised by this device are numerous, relating as much to the nature of the project as to the type of formal structuring that it induces and that is linked to it, and to the choice of the various writing strategies to be implemented. The string quartet is an instrumental device that is both "cultural" and "symbolic", in relation to which everyone can immediately situate themselves. In contrast, percussion can then appear as a "monohedron", an inverted world, offering an infinite number of devices (here: phonolites, wooden blades, balafon, hi-hat pedal, bamboo, Tibetan bowls, wooden and metal drums, etc.).
From the conception of the project, it seemed to me that writing had to abdicate part of its power of control, ceding "mastery" to the anadyomene ambiguities that the real-time transformation of percussive sounds could maintain with the quartet.
It's a bit like painting on damp paint in the process of drying, to better grasp the vitality and exalt the material in its insubstantial contingency, at the same time as the idea that drives the project into the immediacy of its realization.
Un bel éclair qui dure is commissioned by Ircam-Centre Pompidou, carried out with the help of Augustin Muller, a computer music director at Ircam.

Robert Pascal - Obscure Lumière
To write a short piece for string quartet in resonance with theHymne des Milles- that was the initial proposal I received from the Quatuor Béla. Accepting the project without hesitation, I was faced with an unknown challenge: how to integrate into my composition music I didn't yet know, and which was coming to me from outside. To be meaningful, the fit had to be broad and deep. Odile Boyer, deputy director of the Fondation du Camp des Mille-Mémoire et Education, made this possible by introducing me to and understanding the site of the camp itself, and by proposing for my reading - among other things - "The Devil in France", a very touching autobiographical account by the German writer Lion Feuchtwanger, who was interned in the camp before being able to escape in 1940. All this may have brought me close to those who lived in the camp at the time, many of them artists and intellectuals, and my composition is driven by an instinctive sympathy for them, especially the musician Adolf Siebert, who wrote the Hymn under such difficult conditions. Obscure lumière is permeated by his song. At least in a subterranean way, because there's no point in composing in the hope of gaining recognition for a song that the majority of the public doesn't know anyway. Nevertheless, the composition allows the Hymn to emerge clearly from the musical framework, just as for the internees, light could emerge from darkness.

Mentions
Biography(s)
Location
Verunelli / Fourès / Pascal
Quatuor Béla, Jean Geoffroy
Concert
Tue. February 20, 2024 | 7:00 pm Friche la Belle de Mai (Petit Plateau)

DURATION
1h

RATES
One-off €6
Modulations loyalty card €30*
Limited number of seats
*Gives access to all Modulations in the season 23-24

PRACTICAL INFORMATION
Latecomers will not be admitted to the theater, as some shows do not tolerate late entries - at the Producer's request.

TICKETS
Online: gmem-cncm.mapado.com
By e-mail: billetterie@gmem.org
On site: on the day of the performance, half an hour before the show, subject to availability.

IN THE FRAMEWORK OF MODULATIONS
What are Modulations?
Concerts, performances, regular events...
In other words, a season organized by GMEM.
2nd semester dates:
16/01 - 20/02 - 03/03 - 19/03 - 16/04 - 12/05


Distribution

Quatuor Béla
string quartet

Jean Geoffroy
percussion

Augustin Muller
Ircam Electronics

Clément Cerles
Ircam sound diffusion



WORKS OF 

Francesca Verunelli  
< CRÉATION 2024 > — 15 min

Robert Pascal
Obscure Lumière - 5 min
string quartet, on "Hymne des Milles". 

Henry Fourès
Un bel éclair qui durerait - 30 min
quintet for string quartet and augmented percussion

Useful links

Pour ce concert, le quatuor Béla a ouvert ses valises le temps d'une soirée à Marseille...

Il y a trouvé l'œuvre frappante d'Henry Fourès, Un bel éclair qui durerait, pour quatuor et percussion augmentée. La pièce explore les possibilités du discours acoustique des cordes, dialoguant avec l'art virtuose du percussionniste Jean Geoffroy, qui en plus de sa technicité instrumentale infaillible, transmute la chorégraphie naturelle des mains en sons inouïs.

Dans cette continuité, les quatre musiciens joueront la pièce écrite par Robert Pascal pour le Quatuor Béla, Obscure Lumière, en mémoire aux victimes du camp des Milles pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, en résonance à l’Hymne des Milles composé en 1939 par Adolf Siebert alors en détention au Camp des Milles. La musique raffinée du compositeur, est défendue avec ardeur depuis ses débuts, quand Robert enseignait encore au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Lyon. Son style très personnel qui allie une grande rigueur dans l’écriture est au service d'une poésie humaniste et inspirée.

Enfin, Francesca Verunelli, créatrice singulière reconnaissable entre tous, offre au Quatuor Béla la primeur de son nouveau quatuor à cordes. Quiconque connaît son art s'attendra, à la suite de son Unfolding pour quatuor et électronique, à une musique aux textures diaprées et adamantines. Riche de possibilités, c’est une œuvre qui s’ouvrira tantôt sur des polyphonies riches et scintillantes, tantôt sur des rythmiques acérées et délirantes.

Francesca Verunelli – Création 2024

Henry FourèsUn bel éclair qui durerait
Dans les catalogues d’édition de ces trente dernières années, rares sont les œuvres en quintette, alliant percussion et quatuor à cordes. C’est que les questions soulevées par ce dispositif sont nombreuses, tenant aussi bien à la nature du projet qu’au type de structuration formelle qu’il induit et qui s’y rattache, et au choix des diverses stratégies d’écriture à mettre en œuvre. Le quatuor à cordes est un dispositif instrumental à la fois «culturel» et «symbolique», vis-à-vis duquel chacun peut immédiatement se situer. En regard, la percussion peut alors apparaitre comme un « monoèdre », un monde inversé, proposant une infinité de dispositifs (ici : phonolithes, lames de bois, balafon, pédale charleston, bambous, bols tibétains, tambours de bois, de métal...).
Dès la conception du projet, il m’a semblé que l’écriture se devait d’abdiquer une part de son pouvoir de contrôle, cédant la « maîtrise » aux ambiguïtés anadyomènes que la transformation en temps réel des sons percussifs pouvait entretenir avec le quatuor.
Un peu comme si l’on peignait sur de la peinture humide en train de sécher, pour mieux saisir la vitalité et exalter la matière dans sa contingence insubstantielle, en même temps que l’idée qui conduit le projet dans l’immédiateté de sa réalisation.
Un bel éclair qui durerait est une commande de l’Ircam-Centre Pompidou, réalisée avec le concours d’Augustin Muller, réalisateur en informatique musicale à l’Ircam.

Robert PascalObscure Lumière
Ecrire une courte pièce pour quatuor à cordes en résonance avec l’Hymne des Milles, voilà quelle a été au tout départ la proposition que le Quatuor Béla m’a adressée. Accueillir le projet sans hésiter me laissait pourtant devant une inconnue : savoir intégrer à ma composition une musique que je ne connaissais pas encore et qui m’arrivait ainsi de l’extérieur. Pour avoir un sens, l’adéquation devait être large, et profonde. Odile Boyer, directrice adjointe de la Fondation du Camp des Mille-Mémoire et Education l’a permis en me faisant connaître et comprendre le lieu même du camp, et en proposant à ma lecture – entre autre – « Le Diable en France », très touchant récit autobiographique de l’écrivain allemand Lion Feuchtwanger, interné dans le camp avant de pouvoir s’en échapper en 1940. Tout cela a pu faire naître en moi une proximité avec ceux qui alors ont vécu au camp, artistes et intellectuels pour beaucoup, et ma composition est portée par une sympathie instinctive envers eux, et particulièrement le musicien Adolf Siebert qui avait écrit l’Hymne dans ces conditions si difficiles. Obscure lumière est traversé par son chant. De façon souterraine au moins, car il n’y a pas de sens à composer en espérant faire reconnaître un chant que de toutes façons la majorité du public ne connait pas. Pourtant, la composition laissera l’Hymne clairement émerger de la trame musicale, ainsi que pour les internés la lumière savait jaillir de l’obscurité.

Mentions
Biographie(s)
Lieu
Verunelli / Fourès / Pascal
Quatuor Béla, Jean Geoffroy
Concert
Mar. 20 février 2024 | 19h00 Friche la Belle de Mai (Petit Plateau)

DURÉE
1h

TARIFS
Unique 6€
Carte de fidélité Modulations 30€*
Nombre de places limité
*Donne accès à toutes les Modulations de la saison 23-24

INFORMATION PRATIQUE
Les spectateur·rice·s retardataires ne pourront avoir accès à la salle, certains spectacles ne tolérant — sur demande du Producteur — aucune entrée en retard.

BILLETTERIE
En ligne : gmem-cncm.mapado.com
Par mail : billetterie@gmem.org
Sur place : le jour même de la représentation, une demi-heure avant le spectacle, dans la limite des places disponibles.

DANS LE CADRE DES MODULATIONS
Les Modulations, c’est quoi ?
Ce sont des concerts, des performances, des événements réguliers…
Autrement dit, une saison organisée par le GMEM.
Dates du 2ème semestre :
16/01 — 20/02 03/03 — 19/03 — 16/04 — 12/05


Distribution

Quatuor Béla
quatuor à cordes

Jean Geoffroy
percussions

Augustin Muller
électronique Ircam

Clément Cerles
diffusion sonore Ircam



ŒUVRES DE 

Francesca Verunelli  
< CRÉATION 2024 > — 15 min

Robert Pascal 
Obscure Lumière — 5 min
quatuor à cordes, sur « l’Hymne des Milles » 

Henry Fourès
Un bel éclair qui durerait — 30 min
quintette pour quatuor à cordes et percussion augmentée

Liens utiles