Staging and set design residency.

Still practiced in the southern Massif Central, transhumance on foot is surrounded by a whole range of customs and know-how, contributing to the development of singular and unifying sound and visual landscapes.

Perhaps one of the most distinctive features of these transhumances is the acoustic clamour caused by the use of bells and rattles placed around the necks of the animals by their herders. Questioning the paramusical function of these objects, and the basis of their selection criteria (technical, acoustic, interpretative), reveals a degree of involvement on the part of breeders, shepherds and their bellringers in sound research that could be likened to the process of musical composition.

True "makers of landscapes", composers and performers roam the land, dressing it in their movement, their tinkling, their cries, their calls, which will take on a particular resonance as they cross: they thus shape a common listening culture, through their close association in the art of walking, interpreting and deploying the score in a spatialization where the environments bring an acoustic singularity to the composition.

Following on from the Faiseurs de Paysages research and collection cycle supported by the Occitanie Region's Aide au PCI in 2021-22, which focused on sound phenomena linked to transhumant pastoralism in the southern Massif Central, Beau Bruit is intended to present to the general public the initial results of the ethnographic survey conducted by Iris and around the following premise: Can we consider the orchestration of these ensconced herds as sound compositions resulting from research, whose interpretation is carried out by animals in a constantly evolving time and space? If so, what are the modalities of its implementation, and what does it tell us about the sound footprint of communities?  

Mentions
Biography(s)
Beau Bruit
Iris Kaufmann
Residence
Mon. June 24 + Tue. 25, 2024
Distribution

Iris Kaufmann
artist, ethnologist

Jean François Vrod
external view, direction and set design

Useful links
You will also like...

Résidence de mise en scène et scénographie.

Encore pratiquée dans le sud du Massif Central, la transhumance pédestre est entourée d’un ensemble d’usages, de savoir-faire, contribuant à l’élaboration de paysages sonores et visuels tout à fait singuliers et rassembleurs. 

L’une des caractéristiques majeures de ces transhumances est peut-être l’amoncellement acoustique provoqué par l’usage de cloches et sonnailles placées au cou des bêtes par leurs éleveur·euse·s. Questionner la fonction paramusicale de ces objets, ce qui fonde les critères de choix (techniques, acoustiques, interprétatifs) fait apparaître un degré d’implication des éleveur·euse·s, berger·ère·s, et de leurs sonnaillers dans une recherche sonore, que l’on pourrait rapprocher de la démarche de composition musicale. 

Véritables « faiseurs de paysages », compositeur·rice·s et interprètes parcourent le pays, l’habillant de leur mouvement, de leurs tintements, cris, appels, qui prendront une résonance particulière au fil de la traversée : ils façonnent ainsi une culture commune de l’écoute, par leur étroite association dans l’art de la marche, l’interprétation et le déploiement de la partition dans une spatialisation où les milieux apportent une singularité acoustique à la composition.

Faisant suite au cycle de recherche et de collecte Faiseurs de Paysages soutenu par l’Aide au PCI de la Région Occitanie en 2021-22, axé sur les phénomènes sonores liés au pastoralisme transhumant dans le sud du Massif Central, Beau Bruit a vocation à présenter au grand public les premiers résultats de l'enquête ethnographique menée par Iris et autour du postulat suivant : peut-on considérer l’orchestration de ces troupeaux ensonnaillés comme des compositions sonores résultant d’une recherche, dont l’interprétation est réalisée par des animaux dans un temps et un espace en constante évolution ? Si oui, quelles sont les modalités de sa mise en œuvre et que nous apprend t-elle sur l’empreinte sonore des communautés ?  

Mentions
Biographie(s)
Beau Bruit
Iris Kaufmann
Résidence
Lun. 24 + Mar. 25 juin 2024
Distribution

Iris Kaufmann
artiste, ethnologue

Jean François Vrod
regard extérieur, mise en scène et scénographie

Liens utiles
Vous aimerez aussi...